Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /var/www/html/massivesummit.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 2033

Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /var/www/html/massivesummit.org/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 2033
Satya S. Tripathi | Massive Earth Summit 2018

Satya S. Tripathi


“If you are only looking for public funds to do public good in the climate change space, in the social impact space, there will never be enough resources, because 70% of the world’s GDP is private sector.”

Satya S. Tripathi is the Senior Adviser for 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development at UN Environment. He is also a Senior Distinguished Fellow on Natural Resources Governance at the World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF) since May 2016. Until March 2016 Mr. Tripathi led the United Nations Office for REDD+ Coordination in Indonesia (UNORCID), a UN System Office of 10 UN Agencies established by the UN Secretary-General in 2011 to support the pioneering efforts by Indonesia and partner nations on climate change mitigation and adaptation through conservation of forests and preservation of peat-land and bio-diversity.

A lawyer and development economist by training, Mr. Tripathi has served with the UN since 1998 in key positions in Europe, Asia and Africa spanning a broad range of tasks pertaining to Climate Change, Humanitarian Affairs, Human Rights, Democratic Governance and Legal Affairs. These include an acclaimed stint as Chair of the Committees on Laws, Treaties and Administrative matters for the UN-mediated Cyprus unification talks in 2004.

Among other responsibilities, Mr. Tripathi currently serves on the Advisory Council of the UN Environment’s Global REDD+ Academy; Advisory Council of the Natural Capital Declaration (NCD); and the Board of Trustees at the non-profit ‘Green Initiatives for a Sustainable Tomorrow’ (GIST). In the past, he has served on the World Economic Forum’s Global Advisory Council on Forests; and in the state and federal governments in India as a member of its national civil service.